Foundation Stage

In the Foundation stage we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. Within the Early Years Framework there are seven areas of learning and development, three prime areas and four specific areas:

Three Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Four Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children learn and develop through an engaging mix of play based activities, both indoors and outdoors. We aim to build their confidence through play as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others.

The school teaches phonics using the Read Write Inc programme, which is a cohesive and creative approach to teaching reading and writing.

Staff who currently have been trained in Paediatric First Aid is Mrs Lawfull.

EYFS Long Term Plan